For the first time, a World Cup will be held in three countries and with 48 teams. Interesting facts and information known so far about the 2026 World Cup finals. It is as interesting as checking your bet at Bet22.

The FIFA World Cup 26™ is already casting its shadow. Just three and a half years after the final in Qatar 2022, the biggest final tournament in World Cup history is on the agenda.


Dates and match schedule

The next World Cup will once again be held in the traditional period between June and July. The date for the World Cup final has been set for July 19, 2026, with the opening match taking place on June 11, 2026.

The full schedule was announced on February 4, 2024, with New York New Jersey selected as the venue for the final and the famous Azteca Stadium in Mexico City as the venue for the opening match.


The FIFA Council has unanimously decided to change the format of the group stage of World Cup 226 from 16 groups of three to 12 groups of four.

The top two teams in each group and the eight best third-placed teams will progress to a round of 32. The title contenders will now play eight games instead of seven on their way from the group stage to the final.

Each member association can determine the mode and period of World Cup qualification itself. The hosts Canada, Mexico and the USA have already qualified.

The next World Cup will take place in 2026. It is already clear that there will be two new features. All the information on the format and the hosts:

The 2022 World Cup in Qatar caused heated discussions and a lot of criticism immediately after it was awarded in 2010. One aspect was that the tournament had to be held in winter rather than summer for the first time due to the high temperatures. In 2026, the World Cup will once again be held in June and July as usual. However, there are two major innovations.


Firstly, the World Cup will be held in three countries for the first time ever. In 2018, the world governing body FIFA awarded the tournament to the USA, Mexico and Canada. The USA (1994) and Mexico (1970 and 1986) have already gained experience as World Cup hosts, while Canada will be hosting the World Cup for the first time. FIFA is also once again making a decisive change to the format.

For the first time, a total of 48 nations will be allowed to take part in the World Cup. Since 1998, there have been 32 participants at each World Cup. According to the current status, there will therefore no longer be groups of four, but the preliminary round will be divided into 16 groups of three. According to the Guardian, however, there are discussions as to whether there should be a return to the four-team format.


Participating teams

The field of participants will be expanded by twelve teams, meaning that 48 teams will be competing for the first time. The distribution of starting places by continental association has already been determined:

AFC (Asia): 8 direct qualifiers + 1 play-off participant

CAF (Africa): 9 direct qualifiers + 1 play-off participant

CONCACAF (North and Central America and the Caribbean): 6 direct qualifiers + 2 play-off participants

CONMEBOL (South America): 6 direct qualifiers + 1 play-off participant

OFC (Oceania): 1 direct qualifier + 1 play-off participant

UEFA (Europe): 16 direct qualifiers

In summer 2022, it was announced which stadiums will host the 2026 World Cup. In Canada, the games will take place in Vancouver (BC Place Stadium) and Toronto (BMO Field). The USA has selected the following locations: New York City metropolitan area (MetLife Stadium), Dallas/Fort Worth/Arlington metropolitan area (AT&T Stadium), Kansas City (Arrowhead Stadium), Houston (NRG Stadium), Atlanta (Mercedes-Benz Stadium), Los Angeles metropolitan area (SoFi Stadium), Seattle (Lumen Field), San Francisco Bay Area (Levi’s Stadium), Boston metropolitan area (Gillette Stadium), Miami metropolitan area (Hard Rock Stadium).

Mexico has a total of three World Cup venues: Mexico City (Azteca Stadium), Monterrey Metropolitan Area (Estadio BBVA Bancomer) and Guadalajara (Estadio Akron). It has not yet been decided which stadiums will host the opening match and the final.

हैलो दोस्तों मेरा नाम रोहित है और मैं उत्तराखंड का रहने वाला हूं मुझे बचपन से ही शायरी और स्टेटस लिखने का बहुत शौक है इसी लिए मैंने यह वेबसाइट बनाई है ।


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here